why do scary stuff now if I can do the ironing instead?

I find both insight and inspiration in reading other people’s blogs

This week I found posts on a similar topic in two of the blogs I enjoy reading, and this was the thorny and eternal tension between putting stuff off and getting stuff done.

Now, I am pretty good about getting the everyday chores done.  My family and my animals always get fed in a more or less timely fashion, the caravan we live in at the moment is usually pretty clean and tidy (there isn’t really room to be messy!) and I was never once late to collect my kids from school but, reading these entertaining and thought provoking posts by busy younger women about organising tasks and procrastination, I realised something about myself I that I hadn’t fully appreciated before: I use these everyday chores and commitments to avoid getting started on new and exciting projects that I maybe feel a little anxious about, even if they’re something I would rather be doing.

Now, I think this blog is the perfect example of that.  I had been thinking about it for ages; writing posts in my head while I mucked out animal pens or did the ironing…I had a name for my blog and had got as far as creating my account on WordPress and giving the blog a name – but that was as far as I got for a long time.

So, having had this important if unpalatable truth about myself revealed to me by my peers,  next time I’m mucking out or ironing I shall be thinking  about strategies for moving on to those tasks that are altogether more interesting but perhaps a little scary….

2 thoughts on “why do scary stuff now if I can do the ironing instead?

Leave a Reply

